> Home > Government > Boards, Commissions, and Committees > Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission

DEI Logo 

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Commission is an advisory commission of the city of Lynnwood whose duties shall be to provide advice and recommendations to the mayor and city council in regard to the following:

  • Achieving Lynnwood’s Community Vision in regard to being a ‘welcoming city’ and a ‘cohesive community that respects all’ by encouraging cooperation, tolerance and respect among and by all persons who come in contact with the city of Lynnwood (i.e. residents, visitors, employers, employees, etc.).
  • Recommending effective strategies for public engagement, removing barriers, and increasing access to city services for our city’s diverse population.
  • Recommending areas for investing upstream and where needs are greatest, addressing root causes of inequities and lack of access and smartly allocating our public resources, and recommending opportunities for community partnerships as a strategy to better understand and address equity impacts throughout our city.
  • Facilitating the building of relationships with underserved and underrepresented communities and serving as Trusted Messengers to the community at large.
  • Performing such other duties as the mayor and/or city council may direct.

The Commission consists of seven members who are appointed to serve three-year terms. Members must live within Lynnwood City limits and be a registered voter. The Commission may accept up to two members that reside in the city's municipal urban growth area. Voter registration requirements may be waived for up to two members of the Commission, provided that the individual was born in a country other than the United States of America and the individual is actively working towards obtaining citizenship. There is a preference for city of Lynnwood residents over nonresident candidates.

 All Are Welcome      

All Are Welcome is an initiative of the DEI Commission and is a part of the City's larger commitment to being a safe, welcoming, and equitable city for all.

Please join us in the effort to create a safe and welcoming city by displaying an All Are Welcome decal at your business, community gathering place, and even your home!

To request a decal, contact Evan Chinn at echinn@LynnwoodWA.gov or
425-670-5086.

  

 

 

Commission Members

Position # Member Term Expires Email 
Position #1 Ihab Bouanani 12/31/2019  IBouanani@LynnwoodWA.gov
Position #2 Jaaziel Sanchez Rivera 12/31/2019  JRivera@LynnwoodWA.gov
Position #3 Ashkan Amouzegar 12/31/2020  AAmouzegar@LynnwoodWA.gov
Position #4 Naz Lashgari, Vice Chair        12/31/2020  NLashgari@LynnwoodWA.gov
Position #5 Jared Bigelow, Chair 12/31/2020  JBigelow@LynnwoodWA.gov
Position #6 Michelle Winters 12/31/2021  MWinters@LynnwoodWA.gov
Position #7 Jonathan Waters 12/31/2021  JWaters@LynnwoodWA.gov
Council Liaison Ruth Ross  RRoss@LynnwoodWA.gov

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission meetings will be held the 2nd Wednesday of each month.

Staff Contact

If you would like more information on the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission please contact Evan Chinn at 425-670-5086 or by email at echinn@LynnwoodWA.gov  

Get Involved

Are you interested in joining a Board or Commission? Visit our Volunteer Page to see a listing a current vacancies and to fill out a Board & Commission Application