## SNOHOMISH COUNTY SHERIFF AND POLICE CHIEFS ASSOCIATION

Representing Law Enforcement in Snohomish County

## Community Statement Regarding George Floyd

The Snohomish County Sheriff and Police Chiefs Association (SCSPCA) is comprised of Snohomish County's 22 municipal and tribal police chiefs, the Sheriff, the Washington State Patrol District 7 Captain and the Snohomish County Prosecutor. Many SCSPCA members have already made public statements denouncing the death of George Floyd, to include both the actions and inaction we observed in the video of his arrest and subsequent death.

As an association, we are deeply saddened and troubled by what we saw on the video and want to reassure our community that the actions of these officers do not represent the values, ethics and morals that we promote at our individual agencies or collectively throughout law enforcement in Snohomish County. We continue to support all members of our communities who choose to exercise their right to peacefully demonstrate and express their concerns and outrage over what they saw. As we navigate these difficult times together, the SCSPCA remains committed to building and maintaining our public's trust and ensuring that our officers, deputies, troopers and deputy prosecutors are not only highly trained, but that they possess the knowledge, skills and ability to serve our communities in a fair and impartial manner.

We look forward to engaging with the public in the weeks and months ahead to ensure that our residents have the highest levels of trust and confidence in our ability to deliver public safety services to our communities.

Sheriff Adam Fortney SNOHOMISH COUNTY

Chief Jonathan Ventura ARLINGTON

Chief Ken Seuberlich BOTHELL

Chief Mike Catlett BRIER

**DARRINGTON** 

Act. Chief Jim Lawless EDMONDS

Chief Dan Templeman EVERETT

> Chief Craig Hess GOLD BAR

Chief Thomas Dalton GRANITE FALLS

Chief John Dyer LAKE STEVENS

Chief Tom Davis LYNNWOOD

Int. Chief Jeff Goldman MARYSVILLE

Act. Chief Scott Eastman MILL CREEK

Chief Jeff Jolley MONROE

Chief Peter Caw MOUNTLAKE TERRACE

> Chief Cheol Kang MUKILTEO

Chief Sherman Pruitt SAUK-SUIATTLE

Chief Robert Palmer SNOHOMISH

Chief Robert Martin STANWOOD

Chief D.W. Tardiff STILLAGUAMISH

Chief Mike Martin SULTAN

Chief Chris Sutter TULALIP

Chief Doug Hansen WOODWAY

Captain Scott McCoy WSP

Adam Cornell PROSECUTING ATTORNEY

Arlington Police Department

Bothell Police Department

Mike Catlett

Brier Police Department

**Édmonds Police Department** 

Everett Police Department

Gold Bar Police Department

**Granite Falls Police Department** 

Lake Stevens Police Department

Lynnwood Police Department

Marysville Police Department

Mill Creek Police Department

Monroe Police Department

Mountlake Terrace Police Department

Mukilteo Police Department

Sauk-Suiattle Tribal Police Department

**Snohomish County Prosecutor** 

**Snohomish County Sheriff** 

Snohomish Police Department

**Stanwood Police Department** 

Stillaguamish Tribal Police Department

M. Martin

Sultan Police Department

**Tulalip Police Department** 

Woodway Police Department

Washington State Patrol - District 7